Carnage

So in addition to the human contact I received this weekend, I also purchased and wasted almost a day of my life on Super Smash Brothers Brawl.

I’m not an expert player. I have taken part in all night Melee rounds with my friends, but I never practiced enough to learn the tiers or even learn how to wavedash. I would solidly call myself a (gasp) casual player.

From what little I do know about Smash, I can say that Brawl has a somewhat different pace to it. I expect part of this feeling may come from the fact that I’m not totally used to the new controllers yet. I didn’t want to depend on my wavebird, so I tried wiimote nunchuck and classic controller. The action is noticeably slower than Melee, but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I used my old standby Samus and the newcomer Pit, and I never had a problem controlling them. The movement was even. Yoshi is still a nightmare for me. That rolling egg attack is effective, but very cumbersome.

I’ve gone about one fourth of the way through Subspace Emissary. The baddies are very well designed, but some of them are very annoying. The eye-fish is disturbing. I don’t mind running through it, and I’m glad it’s on the disc, but the story seems like bad fanfiction. The cutscenes are awesome, however.

I haven’t been able to find anyone online yet. I think the servers are having trouble. This really is a bummer. Oh well, I plan on making some time to play with friends next weekend. Maybe I can play with my family over Easter. I don’t think one can get the full Smash experience until they are crammed onto a couch with three other players, shouting obscene things at one another.

So the verdict? Mixed. I love newcomers like Metaknight and Pit. I also loved that they sort of gimped my husband’s favorite, Kirby. He’s a cheap player and deserved it. I’m still out on online, unfortunately. I will say that it is inconceivable that you can’t connect two people from the same Wii to a random online match. Also, I’m very close to turning off Final Smash balls and those bomb force-field thingies.

One response to “Carnage

  1. Two things:

    1. I’m pretty sure portions of this post were written in a language I cannot understand.

    2. You are a nerd.

    Thank you for your time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

