Caveats

I was grumbling about some stuff today. Walking around my house, straightening up, complaining. It was less than unproductive. It was deductive—wait, not scratch that. Just unproductive.

I stopped in the middle of my living room. This is all literal. I actually stopped and look up at the ceiling. I then asked myself what good this was doing me. That’s right, none. I realized two things then:

1. I really don’t have it that bad and I mainly complain when I have to put additional effort into things. I’ve had at least five different conversations recently with different people about how these days we only think about things from a time cost perspective. Isn’t that ridiculous? I mean especially in the light of my procrastination post yesterday. Why should I care how much time it take to do my best at something? It’s probably because I know if I take a longer time it still won’t be as good as I want it to be, but that’s not the point.

Attaching a money value to time is generally a recipe for disaster. They are the two most sought after commodities in the world, and you are never going to have enough of either of them for your liking. To me, at that point in my mental ranting, it seemed ridiculous to make money or goofing off a life pursuit. There are so many other things in the world that can be obtained. Like doing something you are proud of. I may take a lot of time and money, but those things will never make you happy. Don’t worry, the second thought wasn’t any less cheesy.

2. I need a philosophy. So few people have them these days, and it really shows. Having no philosophy just leads to having no sense of purpose. I’ve decided on mine, too:

Be kind to the people around you.

That’s it. I love it. It’s so broad. I mean, it could mean be nice to that guy on the Internet or give that homeless guy a sandwich, or make my husband proud by doing my best. It works out well for everyone. Now, about sticking to it…

Leave a Reply

